Saturday, 9 May 2015

{Review} Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)Posted by Donna
Release Date: January 28th, 2014
Finished Date: May 3rd, 2015
Publishers: HarperTeen
Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Dystopia, Romance
Source: For Review
Format: eBook
Pages: 384
Buy: Amazon UK Amazon US / The Book Depo

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

The Review: I’ve had Uninvited sitting on my Kindle for a while now and I was planning on reading it when it first released but I just wasn’t in the mood at the time but it’s always been in the back of my mind. Now I can finally say, I’ve read it! And I’m glad I’ve managed to knock it off my TBR list. 

Davy Hamilton has a perfect life – perfect family, perfect boyfriend and, a perfect future to look forward to. But the world Davey lives in isn’t perfect. She lives in a world that certain people test positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome – a gene that the Government finds in everyone that have killed people. In order to prevent this, the Government do mandatory DNA test on everyone and this is when Davy tested positive for HTS – she has the kill gene. Davy’s life is suddenly turned upside when she becomes a carrier and a target and the only other person she can turn to is fellow HTS carrier Sean. 

Uninvited is a chilling and interesting story, but at times the story becomes very slow paced. While I was reading it was quite difficult to see where the story was heading because at times, the plot of the story is non-existent like there wasn’t much of a story to tell other than Davy trying to deal with her HTS gene. I kept reading for the reason that was I’ve read Sophie Jordan’s work before and I know she’s a great writer, so I knew something was planned for the end of the book. So I’m glad I stuck through because I was right and the ending was really enjoyable but, it’s unfortunately it I’m not sure it is enough to make me want to read the sequel….only time will tell. 

I liked Davy as a character, she’s a generally nice person but I felt she spent a lot of time dwelling on the past. I know it’s probably a hard thing to try and forget who she was before she found out that she had the HTS gene. But I felt she tried to hold on to that for far too long. It made the story drag because I just wanted to see Davy accept it and become a better person – a person that proves the Government wrong – that she isn’t destined to become a killer, but that never happens. As the story progresses Davy does start to believe in herself a little more and she tries to stand up for herself more but every time she makes some progress, someone pushes her back down. It was a cruel world she lived in and my heart when out to her. I’m glad she had Sean to lean on. He’s a character that takes some warming up to, but when he opens up its great! He’s great! 

In all, I’m glad I’ve read Uninvited even if it wasn’t a favourite for me, it’s still an interesting read and I believe many people will like it. So give it a try for yourself and see =) 


Thank you to HarperTeen for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review. 

1 comment:

Suzi Q, The Book Dame said...

Isn't it funny how we get frustrated with fictional characters for acting in expected ways, like Davy having a hard time moving on. That happens to me all the time, wanting to shake a character for wallowing. Thankfully I am a lot more sympathetic in real life. Great review.