Monday, 8 October 2012

A Review for Mystic City (Mystic City #1) by Theo Lawrence

Mystic City (Mystic City, #1)Posted by Donna
Release Date: October 11th, 2012
Finished Date: October 6th, 2012 
Publishers: Corgi Childrens 
Source: For Review 
Format: Paperback 
Pages: 146
Buy : Amazon UK / Amazon US / The Book Depo

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.

The Review: Mystic City is a book that I’ve only recently came across on Goodreads and as soon as I did, I knew I had to read it. Being compared to X-Men, Matched and The Hunger Games, I was expecting great things from this book, and overall, it’s not a favourite but I did really enjoy it. 

Aria is a teenage girl who has lost her memory after overdosing on a mystic drug could Stic. Having to rely on her family and friends word, she’s told that she was having a secret love affair with Thomas – a boy from a rival family. Aria soon finds herself engaged to be married to him, however, no matter how much her family try to force her feelings for Thomas, Aria can’t help something isn’t right. With the appearance of a mystic named Hunter, Aria is thrown into a dangerous world, one where she finally finds out the lengths her family will go to keep everything and everyone in control, including Aria.

I really enjoyed Mystic City; however to start with, I did struggle. I wasn’t anything to do with the book itself, but more because I’ve been reading a lot of adult books lately and also, trying to find the time to read. So to start with I felt a little disconnected to the story and the characters. It wasn’t until around 100 page mark, that things started to pick up and I finally found myself enjoying the story. If anything the only real fault I had with this book was it was a bit predictable. I loved the concept, I thought the author did a great job making it interesting but it was pretty easy to work out what had happened to Aria and why, so by the end of the book there wasn’t really a shock factor.  

I really enjoyed the characters. Aria was interesting and determined and very strong minded. Hunter was brave, strong and if anything, more interesting than Aria. Even though both are from different sides, they have a connection that no one can break, even Aria’s family. There pushed to their limits but no matter what, they remain hopeful. 

What I enjoyed most about this book was getting to know the mystic’s. I found it fascinating discovering their magic – and that part, really did remind of X-Men. It was pretty awesome and it’s definitely something I’m looking forward to finding out more in book two. 

A big thank you Corgi Children's for giving me the opportunity to review 
this book.

20 comments:

Karen Connor said...

This book has such a pretty cover and it's really drawing me in. I'm not sure though. I have to love my characters to enjoy a book and I have the feeling that won't happen with this book. I noticed that its only 146 pages? Wow, that's short!

Sarah Billington said...

Wow, what an awesome cover.

Danny Bookworm said...

I really enjoyed this book! I found the ideas and mixx of genres fantastic! I loved the Romeo and Juliet themes. But just like you it took me some time to get into the story, but after those initial struggled it was a great read!

LiteraryExploration said...

I actually really liked this one! The combo between dystopian and fantasy was great. I loved finding out about their powers too!! Awesome review :)










Anna
Literary Exploration

Aa'Ishah Hawton said...

This looks soo good, and I'm glad you ended up liking it overall! Aria sounds great. Lovely review!

Suzanne @ Paranormal Book Fan said...

I'm actually looking forward to picking this one up because it does sound interesting. I'll bear in mind that it took you to about 100 pages to really start getting into it, so I won't be expecting anything fantastic from the off.

Sam @ Realm of Fiction said...

It sounds pretty interesting, even though it didn't make your favourites. I'll be sure not to go in with too high expectations. :)

Elodie RASO said...

I love the sound of this book and I've always like X men so I look forward to read this one. Thanks for the fab honest review :)

Siobhan @ Totally Bookalicious said...

I gave it the same rating. I thought it was good. but it wasn't amazing! I am looking forward to the next one.

Rachelanbig said...

I originally overlooked this when it was on Netgalley and now I could kick myself because the reviews coming in make me want to read it. I should see if it's still there. Nice to see you enjoyed this overall even with a slow start. Lovely review Donna. :)

Carly @ Fiction Fascination said...

I have seen a lot of mixed reviews on this one! So I'm glad you enjoyed it, Donna! I can't wait to start my copy soon! Thanks for a great review! :)

Suzanne @ Paranormal Book Fan said...

I'm looking forward to meeting Aria and Hunter and I'm also really interested in the mystics. Great review Donna :)

Yvonne Leacy said...

Really want to read this one ever since I saw the cover. It's just so pretty! It sounds really interesting too and I love X-Men so that's a good start :)

Anonymous said...

Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I'd like to follow you if that would be okay. I'm definitely enjoying
your blog and look forward to new updates.
Look into my blog pisos embargados

Anonymous said...

Wrіte more, thats all I haѵe to say.
Litеrаllу, it seems as though yοu relieԁ on the νiԁеο to make your point.
You definitely know ωhat youre tаlking about, why
waste yοur intelligencе on juѕt posting viԁeos tо уour
wеblog when you could be giνing uѕ
sоmething enlightеning to геad?

Hегe is my pаge ... Chemietoilette
my site > http://noticias.miredsocial.info/

Anonymous said...

Prеtty еlement of content. I just ѕtumbled upon your web
site anԁ in accession caρital to sау that I acquire actually loved accоunt youг
weblog рostѕ. Any way I will be subscribing for your feeds or eѵеn I sucсess you access pегsistently
quickly.

Here is my web blog; Fashionkidshop.Com
My site > http://www.bundespressecamp.de/wiki/index.php?title=benutzer:latia04w

Anonymous said...

analyѕt Ι perceptіon that theгe аre non-rational fοrces at do the trick.

Αt leаst 51 % has to be com, although basically up to seventy five% іs madе
use of. You may bе the reason of obѕtaсles in your fаther's results.

my site old stone oven baking stone

Anonymous said...

Wow, incredible wеblog structure! Hοw
long have you been runnіng a blog fοr?
you make blogging looκ eаsy. The full look οf your webѕite is grеat,
let alone the content material!

Look at my web ѕite: HTTP://Iamrichintelligence.com/2012/07/video-hit-boy-Feat-kid-cudi-old-school-caddy-teaser
my page - Chemietoilette

Anonymous said...

Βake at 350 for 25 minutеs or until tοothpick
inserted in center comes оut clеаn.

After уou've got the crust rolled out, transfer it to your pan or pizza stone. I'm sure
yοu'll find our reviews to be honest and accurate.

My homepage; pizza pan avon lake ohio

Anonymous said...

It's a pity you don't havе a donаtе button!
I'd most certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i'll settle for book-maгking and adding your RSS feed to my Goοgle
account. I look forωard to brand new updates and will talk about this ωebѕite ωith mу Facеboοκ gгoup.

Talκ soon!

My page Chemietoilette