Tuesday, 18 August 2015

{Review} The Last True Vampire (Last True Vampire #1) by Kate Baxter

25497078Posted by Donna
Release Date: August 13th, 2015
Finished Date: August 12th, 2015
Publishers: Headline Eternal
Genre: Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Source: For Review
Format: Paperback
Pages: 384
Buy: Amazon UK Amazon US / The Book Depo

Launching an unmissable new series for fans of J.R. Ward, Nalini Singh, Lara Adrian and Larissa Ione. THE LAST TRUE VAMPIRE is deeply sensual, intensely emotional, and bursting with heartstopping action.

Soul Survivor.

He is the last of his race. King of the vampires. Michael Aristov roams the nightclubs of LA after dark, haunted by his past and driven by his hunger. The only Ancient One to survive the obliteration of his race, he's forced to hunt like a common vampire, governed by lust. Nothing can fulfil his needs ... until he meets the woman who finally awakens his soul.

Sweet Salvation.

Claire Thompson is the only mortal who can satisfy Michael's insatiable craving. She's sassy and seductive, and her intoxicating blood draws Michael like a moth to the flame. Their first fiery kiss sweeps Claire into a deadly world where darkness rules desire, and falling in love is the greatest danger of all. Everything is now at stake, for Claire has the power to seal Michael's fate - and the future of the vampire race - forever.

This unforgettable series continues with The Warrior Vampire.

The Review: I’m always on the lookout for a new adult paranormal romance series and so when I notice a book that is being compared to the likes of J.R Ward, I find myself intrigued straight away so of course The Last True Vampire intrigued me.

Katy Baxter has kick her new series off with a bang and we’re immediately thrown into the lives of Claire and Michael.

Michael is the last true king of the vampire race after everyone else was destroyed by the slayers centuries ago. Since then, he’s been tormented by his past and because of his weaken state, he is trying to avoid the Dhamphirs that are relying on him to turn them but it will remain that way until he finds his mate.

Claire is a human girl who works a dead end job as a waitress. Struggling to make ends meet Claire has no other choice but turn to her other side job by trying to hustle people just so she can make rent. It’s while out one night that Claire finds her new target, Michael but when they meet Claire realizes that Michael isn’t no ordinary guy and there’s something bigger happening – Claire is Michael’s mate and soon she’s thrust into his dangerous life when she discovers she will help save the vampire race.

It’s been a while since I’ve read anything with a vampire theme so it definitely welcomed addition to my TBR pile, actually so much that as soon as I received it, I started it straight away. And in truth while I did enjoy the story it doesn’t live up to some of the other books that I’ve read. I did find I lost interest in parts.

I liked both Claire and Michael. Both of them were headstrong and stubborn characters and at times I found that slightly frustrating because they never seemed to agree on anything especially in the very early days. As their relationship started to develop this does calm down but it’s a constant back and forth pull with these two. But once they finally start getting on the same page, their relationship is the best part of the book. The connection they have is fantastic and their chemistry was steaming for most part of the book.

The premise of the story I liked. That Michael was the last vampire and it was on his shoulders to save his race. It was simply impossible without his mate but I felt like he should have done more to find her – I know he’d given up hope but still, people are depending on Michael! The slayers were even scarier than I first thought they would be. And the story had a few good action scenes too.

In all, The Last True Vampire was an enjoyable read and even though I had a few issues with the story, I’ll definitely be keeping my eyes peeled for the sequel which is Ronan’s story. 

Thank you to Headline Eternal for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review. 
                                            

No comments: