Monday, 9 March 2015

{Review + Giveaway} The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

23573399Posted by Donna
Release Date: February 5th, 2015
Finished Date: February 10th, 2015
Publishers: Walker Books
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Source: For Review
Format: Paperback
Pages: 320
For fans of John Green, David Levithan and Rainbow Rowell: a beautiful, funny and heartfelt novel about love and forgiveness. 

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. 

But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life - and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can't collide without Lennie's world exploding...

The Review: The Sky is Everywhere is a story about Lennie and her sister Bailey. Bailey was everything to Lennie. They shared everything; they were as close as Sisters could be. They were best friends. So when Bailey dies, Lennie loses everything too. She and her family struggle to move on and throughout the story we see the impacts of Bailey’s death through Lennie’s beautiful words and poems. 

 For the last few years I’ve heard how great The Sky is Everywhere and for whatever reason I never managed to read it. Now was its time and it’s definitely a story I won’t be forgetting in a long time. Jandy Nelson has a way with words. Her words suck you in right in and don’t let you go until the very last page. They're poetic and beautiful, moving and emotional and most of all, something readers can connect with. 

 My heart broke for Lennie. At times the story was painful to read because you feel every emotion Lennie was feeling. She struggles to understand why her Sister had to die. She struggles to move on and by doing so, make a few mistakes because of how mixed her emotions are. There were times I wanted to leap into the pages and hug her and there were times when I wanted to shout at her. But characters like Lennie are the ones that leave the most impact because of how heart-breaking her story is and how memorable of a character is she. 

 What I loved about the story was that even through the dark times, there’s always one bright spot and for Lennie that was her family - Gran, Uncle, Toby and Joe. I really did sympathise with Lennie and Toby over their feelings for Bailey. It was such a whirlwind but I could understand how their feelings could get so mixed, but of course I was rooting for Joe. He pushes Lennie to be better. He helps her move on and start fresh. I liked that. 

 In all, The Sky is Everywhere is a riveting and an emotional read that will have you hooked from start to finish. If there’s one book you need to read this year, pick this one.

Thank you to Walker Books for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review.

3 comments:

Stephanie Hartley said...

I've been looking for something like this recently - it really sounds great!


Steph - http://the-darkness-will-never-win.blogspot.com

alessya said...

Great review! :)

Krystianna said...

I recently read I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson and I really enjoyed it, so I'm really interested in picking this one up. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed it! Is this giveaway international, by the way?