Monday, 2 January 2012

A Review for Fracture by Megan Miranda

Posted by Donna
Expected Published Date: January 5th, 2012
Finished Date: December 27th, 2011
Publishers: Bloomsbury
Source: ARC, For Review
Format: Paperback
Pages: 261 
<
The Blurb from Goodreads:  Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine-despite the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she's far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can't control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?

Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she's reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy's motives aren't quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?

The Review: “If you had one day to live, what would you do?”

As soon as I heard about Fracture I knew it was a book I wanted to read. I’ll be honest though, I was a little unsure of it because it says it’s for fans of Gayle Forman’s If I Stay. Now, I didn’t like If I Stay so you can see why I was unsure to start with but let me tell you; Fracture is a heart-stopping, dangerous and thrilling ride and a fantastic debut novel by author Megan Miranda.

The blurb above pretty much tells you everything you need to know about the plot but what it doesn’t say is expect to be thrown into a captivating story from page one. From the get go I was completely fascinated with the story; it was everything I was hoping it would be and so much more. It was intense, heart-breaking, spine-tingly and what surprised me the most was the romance which was completely heart-warming and a fantastic edition.

The characters were lovely to read about. I loved Delaney, she was a normal girl who was very down to earth and had a normal life. When she dies, things change for her. She realises she is just going through the moments and that her family life isn’t as perfect as she once thought. Her best friend Decker, who is also the love interest starts acting weird around her and when he starts dating a girl named Tara, Delaney and Decker can’t help fighting with each other. They love each other but find it hard to talk about their feelings but their scenes together are very intense and you can’t help root for them from the start. And yes, I fell for Decker! How can you not? He is amazing!

There were also so many aspects of this story that I just adored, even though some of them weren’t the happiest of times but I just loved the world that the author created. The idea of someone coming back to life and then having the ability to feel other people dying but not only that, also creating someone else with the same ability was just brilliant. It was kind of like Good vs. Evil; Delaney being good and Troy being bad. You can’t have one without the other, like yin and yang and I adored the combination of it in this story.

Overall, Fracture was a fantastic read. Megan Miranda did an awesome job and I can’t wait to see what comes next from her. I’d highly recommend this to any reader but especially to people that weren’t fans of If I Stay, like me because it may just surprise them.
Thank you to Bloomsbury for giving me the opportunity to review this book. 

10 comments:

Carina said...

YAY, I'm soo glad you enjoyed this. I still need to get a finished copy of this for my shelf, because I really liked this, too.
Great review, hun! <3

Carina

Kristin said...

I'm looking forward to when this comes out! Great review!

Kristin @myparahangover

Andrea @ Cozy Up said...

Great review. I haven't heard of this one before, but it sounds really interesting. I really enjoy the premise of this, and the description of the characters is great. Will definitely look into this one more.

Andrea
PS. New follower :)

Daydreaming_Star said...

Great review! I can't wait to read this myself as it sounds so good but now I want to read it even more :-)

Faye
A Daydreamer's Thoughts

Anna said...

I'm really looking forward to reading this one! I get to meet Megan Miranda at the end of the month so I'm really excited to hear that her book is so good!

Anna @ Literary Exploration

Tiffany said...

Awesome review! This one sounds really good, I'll definitely be picking up a copy soon :)

Natframpton said...

Isn't decker just lovely!!! Great review I loved it as well

Jodie Lane said...

Ohh this made me even more excited to read this book =)

Melanie H said...

OOOO I need this :)

haleyeliseread said...

ahhh I have this for the blog tour!! Your review makes me like 3947892038429 even more excited to read it!!! Awesome review Donna (: