Friday, 28 March 2014

A Review for Clipped Wings (Clipped Wings #1) by Helena Hunting

19392553Posted by Donna
Release Date: March 13th, 2014
Finished Date: March 19th, 2014
Publishers: Orion Books
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Source: For Review
Format: Paperback
Pages: 391
The passionate and addictive love story of two young people haunted by their dark pasts. 

Hayden Stryker is a devastatingly handsome tattoo artist. Covered in ink and steel, his artwork acts as armour while he attempts to move on from a world-shattering loss.

Twenty-one-year-old Tenley Page is new to town and battling demons of her own. The chemistry between the two is instant and unlike anything they've ever experienced before.

When Hayden agrees to apply his art to Tenley's skin, the pair embark on an emotional and intense relationship that neither could have anticipated. But as Tenley's past threatens to destroy their fragile romance, Hayden must find a balance between his desire to protect her and his need to claim her as his.

For fans of J. A. Redmerski, Jamie McGuire and Fifty Shades.

The Review: Passionate, raw and completely gut wrenching, Clipped Wings tells a tale of two broken people coming together in an emotional and intense way.

Hayden Stryker, co-owner of Ink Armour tattoo parlour has had his life back on track  since his addiction to drugs and sex, thanks to good friends around him. Even though he has all that, he still can’t shake the feelings of being lonely. It’s not until the new girl in town starts working in his aunts bookstore does he finally find someone that grabs his attention, and he just has to get to know her.

Tenley Page is hiding a lot of scars. She lost all her family in a horrific accident that she can’t help but blame herself for. She’s made herself believe she doesn’t deserve anyone and that she deserves what she’s been dealt. But when Hayden Stryker does his best to get to know her, she finally sees a way that she can heal. She wants Hayden to tattoo her – one where she will relish in the pain. But with big tattoo like the one Tenley wants, it comes with emotional baggage she’s may not be prepared for, but it also brings her and Hayden together. Can Tenley overcome all her fears and open up to Hayden, or will she allow her past to destroy her future?

I’ve noticed lately that a lot of fan fiction stories are being published, and of course, I want to see what all the hype is about. I’m becoming to realize that some of the best stories have originally come from fan fiction, and Clipped Wings definitely fits into that category.

Told in dual points of view, we see the impact of the two characters that have lost so much in their lives, trying to move on. But Tenley and Hayden’s story isn’t as easy to fix as it would seem.  It’s beautiful the way these two come together, but while Hayden – from my opinion – is happy to try to overcome his issues, Tenley doesn’t find it that easy. She struggles and can only find real comfort while in Hayden’s presence. You would think she recognizes how Hayden makes her feels better, but she’s still hell bent on punishing herself. She does progress throughout the story, but unfortunately there isn’t a happy ending for Tenley just yet.  I loved both of the main characters, even with their issues, it’s impossible not to. The connection they have is beautiful and heart-breaking, and I loved how slowly everything developed between them. It added to the suspense and insensitivity of the story, so when it finally did happen, I was completely invested in these two together.

In all, Helena Hunting has written a great story. It’s one that’s captured my heart and I can’t stop thinking about what’s to come next. Luckily we don’t have to wait too long, as the sequel; Inked Armour is due to be released at the start of May, and I’m already counting down the days.

Favourite Quotes: "Everyone has scars, Tenley. If we're lucky they're only on the outside."

Thank you to Orion Books for the opportunity to review this book, in exchange for an honest review. 

2 comments:

Melanie Hall said...

Great review Donna =)

Captivated Reading said...

I've seen this one floating around. I'm really eager to read it! Great review!! I'm a new follower, by the way! Love your blog!