Monday, 7 August 2017

{Review} Truth or Dare by Non Pratt

25458747
Posted by Donna
Release Date: June 1st, 2017
Finished Date: June 1st, 2017
Publishers: Walker
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Source: For Review
Format: Paperback
Pages: 304
Buy: Amazon UK Amazon US / The Book Depo 
 
A powerful and moving novel about bravery from the Guardian's "writer to watch" Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne. 

How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? 

Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. 

Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you're willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?

The Review: Truth or Dare by Non Pratt is a book that I was really excited to read. After reading and loving her debut novel Trouble, I was more than excited to see what this author could do next.

This story is about two teenagers, Claire and Sef, who are both going through some serious life issues mainly bulling and disabilities. The story tells the characters journey of trying to raise money for Sef’s brother who has been hurt and trying to afford the cost of his treatment. This brings Claire and Sef to create Truth or Dare, where they record themselves online doing crazy dares to raise money. I really enjoyed this aspect of the story because it was not something I’d read before and trying to bring awareness to an illness to a great achievement so bravo to the characters for doing something selfless and brave.

The story is also told from both main characters narratives, so different points of view and for a story like this I definitely think it was needed. It made the story that much more real and enjoyable to get the feeling from both characters. And I loved how you have to flip the book to get the other characters story. Very unique!

I have to say I really did want something more from the end. I’m not a big fan of open endings – I like closure so I can move on from a story but this felt much unfinished to me.

In all, Truth or Dare is an enjoyable read. I didn’t quite like it as much as Trouble but I’m excited to read more from Non Pratt.

Thank you to Walker for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments: