Tuesday, 25 November 2014

{Review} Pulled Under (A Sixteenth Summer Novel) by Michelle Dalton

18778883Posted by Donna
Release Date: May 6th, 2014
Finished Date: November 22nd, 2014
Publishers: Simon Pulse
Genre: YA, Contemporary Romance
Source: Gifted
Format: Paperback
Pages: 288
A shy teen befriends an attractive beach town tourist in this refreshing summertime romance, in the tradition of Sixteenth Summer and Seventeenth Summer.

In the small town of Pearl Beach, Florida, Izzy Lucas needs only her surfboard and the water to be completely happy. She wants nothing to do with parties, popularity contests, or showing her face around the clichéd touristy hangouts. Izzy’s tight group of coworkers at the local surf shop have tried relentlessly to break shy Izzy out of her (sea)shell. But Izzy isn’t interested…until the day Ben Barker walks into the store.

Ben’s from the city. He’s cute, charming, and wants her help adjusting to beach town culture. As the weeks of surfing lessons and pizza shack visits fly by, Izzy and Ben realize their attraction goes beyond mere friendship. But Ben is only in town for three months, and Izzy wonders if this amazing guy is worth stepping out of her comfort zone for what might be the perfect summer romance—or her first heartbreak.

The Review: Pulled Under is the second book I’ve read by author Michelle Dalton and she’s definitely becoming one of my favourite authors for writing the perfect summer read because Pulled Under is the perfect summer read!

Isabel Lucas lives in a small tourist town called Pearl Beach, Florida with her happily married parents, her two best friends whom she shares everything with and works with at the local surf shop but the most important is, that she lives right next to the beach so she can surf any time she wants. It’s during the summer holidays that her friends force her to take a risk and take a chance on the new guy in town, Ben who is spending his summer in Pearl Beach instead of his hometown of Wisconsin.
But Ben is only in town for 3 months and can Isabel take the risk of getting close to Ben, knowing full well that by the end of the summer she’ll be alone again.

I absolutely loved Pulled Under. I had planned to read it during the summer but didn’t have chance and even though it’s not summer here now in the UK, it was still a great read – one that could be read at any time of the year and one I’m sure you’d enjoy.

I had a smile on my face pretty during the whole of the story because of how fun it is. Isabel is a great character. She’s down to earth, fun and even though she’s shy, she’s not too shy that makes her not enjoy her life. She opens up and grows throughout the summer and yeah, most of that is down to Ben who opens her up to more experiences, but even without Ben, I felt as though she is still a good character to get to know. And Ben is awesome. Even though he does have a tough time during the story, he’s still lovely to get to know and just a little swoon-worthy.

In all, I’m dying to read more from Michelle Dalton. Fifteenth Summer is high on my wish list while I waited for the next Sixteenth Summer Novel – Swept Away!

No comments: