Pages

Tuesday, 2 July 2019

Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

40832169
A Curse so Dark and Lonely (Cursebreakers #1) 
Brigid Kemmerer
Release Date: January 1st, 2019
Publishers: Bloomsbury UK
Genre: Fantasy, Re-Telling, YA
Source: For Review
Pages: 496
Goodreads: Add to TBR 
 
In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin. 

The Review: I’m a huge fan of Brigid Kemmerer’s work. From her paranormal books to contemporary books, everything I have read by her I have always really enjoyed, so as soon as I heard about A Curse so Dark and Lonely I just knew I had to read it and I honestly couldn’t contain my excitement when a review copy turned up and I literally dived straight in to read it. And once again Brigid wow’s me because this definitely didn’t disappointed.

A Curse so Dark and Lonely is a YA fantasy re-telling of the classic Beauty and the Beast with a modern contemporary twist. It follows a teenage girl named Harper who has Cerebral Palsy while trying to look after her struggling family. It’s when she is trying to help her brother that she is kidnapped and taken to another world called Emberfall, a world that has fallen under a deadly curse and she may be the key to breaking it.  

The characters of this story are really likeable. Harper is an interesting girl that after all her struggles in life, remains strong through the story. She doesn’t let her Cerebral Palsy stop her from doing the things she loves and refuses to be judged on her condition. We honestly need more refreshing YA characters like her and she was a pleasure to get to know. 

Rhen is also immediately likable. It takes a while to really find out who is he because he’s so used to hiding behind the curse that has affected his whole life and he is suffering because of how much his people are suffering. I really loved the banter between him and Harper. I’m always a sucker for true love stories and this really hit the spot. 

And then we have Grey. A character that became a friend to Harper but who is also hiding so much. I’m so glad we will get to find out what happens with him because how this story ends was something I definitely wasn’t expecting. It was a very good twist! 

I thoroughly enjoyed A Curse so Dark and Lonely and will eagerly look forward to reading more. I’m so glad Brigid decided to write something like this because there is always room for more fantasy books and Brigid has fit right in. 

Thank you to Bloomsbury UK for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review. 


                                                                       Rating: Really liked it - 4 flowers

No comments:

 
Design by Imagination Designs
Graphics by Octopus Artis