Saturday, 12 May 2018

{Review} Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett

36514923Posted by Donna
Release Date: May 17th, 2018 
Finished Date: May 2nd, 2018
Publishers: Simon & Schuster Children's UK
Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary
Source: For Review
Format: Paperback
Pages: 432
Buy: Amazon UK Amazon US / The Book Depo 
 
From Jenn Bennett, author of Night Owls and Alex, Approximately comes a sizzling, starry romance, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

Ever since last year’s homecoming dance, best-friends-turned-worst-enemies Zorie and Lennon have made an art of avoiding each other. It doesn’t hurt that their families are the modern-day version of the Montagues and Capulets. But when a group camping trip goes south, Zorie and Lennon find themselves stranded in the wilderness. Alone. Together.

Zorie and Lennon have no choice but to try to make their way to safety. But as the two travel deeper into the rugged Californian countryside, secrets and hidden feelings surface. Soon it's not simply a matter of enduring each other’s company, but taming their growing feelings for each other. 

The Review: Starry Eyes is the third book I’ve read by author Jenn Bennett and with each book that has been released I find myself excited to see what she has in store for us because so far, she hasn’t disappointed me and I always look forward to her awesome story telling.


In Starry Eyes we see best friends Zorie and Lennon who have suddenly turned enemies but we don’t actually know why they are no longer best friends. Not only were they best friends but most recently had become involved in a secret relationship with each other. When Zorie is offered to go on a glamping trip, she takes the chance to get away from her family but she soon finds out that Lennon has also been invited which means spending the whole week with him. And after much drama with the other members of their group, Zorie and Lennon find themselves camping alone in the wilderness.

I really enjoyed Starry Eyes and I really enjoyed stories that have best friends/romance as I always find them the best types of reads. I think mainly because the characters already know each other so well and it’s fun to watch them discover their love for one another. Zorie and Lennon really have their issues and I liked that we didn’t find out what had gone wrong for them straight away because it added the right amount of suspense to the story that keep me turning the pages. Their relationship is definitely complicated and they don’t really know what went wrong because they haven’t communicated and I really felt sorry for them. They clearly have deep feelings for one another and I was completely rooting for them from the start. And Zorie’s father? I hated him. I wanted to like him but no, just no way.

I honestly don’t think I’ve read many books about camping experiences in the past and then suddenly I’ve read two in the space of two months. I definitely enjoyed Starry Eyes more than the other book I’ve read but I did feel the story was a little longer than it needed to be. It didn’t quite live up to Alex, Approximately which is still one of my favourite reads from last year but still, Starry Eyes is great read with a hot romance and plenty of drama.

Thank you to Simon & Schuster Children's UK for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments: