Friday, 9 September 2016

{Review} Frostblood by Elly Blake

31134210Posted by Donna
Release Date: January 17th, 2017
Finished Date: July 17th, 2016
Publishers: Hodder Paperbacks
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Source: For Review
Format: ARC
Pages: 384
Buy: Amazon UK Amazon US / The Book Depo 
 
The first in a page-turning young adult fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series.

In a land governed by the cruel Frostblood ruling class, seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has spent most of her life hiding her ability to manipulate heat and light - until the day the soldiers come to raid her village and kill her mother. Ruby vows revenge on the tyrannous Frost King responsible for the massacre of her people.

But Ruby's powers are unpredictable...and so are the feelings she has for Arcus, the scarred, mysterious Frostblood warrior who shares her goal to kill the Frost King, albeit for his own reasons. When Ruby is captured by the Frost King's men, she's taken right into the heart of the enemy. Now she only has one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her - and in doing so, she must unleash the powers she's spent her whole life withholding.

Frostblood is set in world where flame and ice are mortal enemies - but together create a power that could change everything.

The Review: This book is one of the reasons I love getting surprise book mail from publishers. As soon as Frostblood landed in my letter box I just knew I had to read it straight away as I’m always looking for new YA fantasy books to read and this sounded right up my street. And it was amazing – definitely one to watch out for in early 2017.

Frostblood is about a world that is divided between frost and fire and where the ruling Frostblood King hunts and kills any Firebloods he can find. Ruby – a seventeen year old girl – is a Fireblood in hiding and most likely the last remaining one. I don’t want to tell you much more of the plot for fear of spoiling it for you but this really is a great fantasy story that I believe many of you will like – especially if you’re fans of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series. 

I devoured this book within a few days which is pretty quick considering I have less reading time now and it usually takes me over a week to read any book. Frostblood was that good. Once I started it was impossible to put down and I was captured by Elle Blake’s imaginative and compelling world that she’s created. The history behind the Fireblood and Frostblood’s was very interesting and I found myself wanting more. I really enjoyed every minute spent in their world. 

The characters were great too. I really enjoyed getting to know Ruby and her story really was emotional. She continued to grow during the book whether that be her personality or her powers but she continued to show how strong she was. The slow burn relationship between Ruby and Arcus was fantastic. It kept me interested all the way through and I honestly cannot wait to see what happens next with them. 

In all, Frostblood is a compelling, gripping and welcomed addition to the YA fantasy genre and I can’t wait to see what comes next within the series. The only problem is now I have to wait even longer for the sequel and that’s going to be a long wait. 

Thank you to Hodder for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments: