Saturday, 6 August 2016

{Review} Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard

27255774Posted by Donna
Release Date: February 11th, 2016
Finished Date:February 14th, 2016
Publishers: Orion
Genre: YA, Dystopia
Source: For Review
Format: Paperback
Pages: 464
Buy: Amazon UK Amazon US / Book Depo 
 
For fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT - the thrilling new fantasy novel from Victoria Aveyard, bestselling author of RED QUEEN.
If there's one thing Mare Barrow knows, it's that she's different.


Mare's blood is red - the colour of common folk - but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from the prince and friend who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by the Silver king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red and Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The Review: After falling in love with Victoria Aveyard’s debut novel Red Queen it’s safe to the sequel Glass Sword was high on my TBR to read and I’m happy to say that it really is a worthy sequel.

Glass Sword continues where Red Queen left off with Mare Barrow’s, the lightening girl running for her life from the person she came to trust Maven, the Silver King. The only good spot in these events is Cal, the dethroned Silver King, is with her so there in this mess together being hunted by friend, brother and crown. After stumbling across danger at every corner Mare and Cal are taken in by the Scarlet Guard and so their journey begins in trying to rescue their friends and people that were captured but also by trying to take down the Silver King. 

I just can’t get enough of this series. As I said before Red Queen really impressed me last year and I always worry with the sequels that they won’t live up to my expectations but Victoria Aveyard really delivered. I feel the plot of the story grew more intense and thickens at every turn leaving you dying to know what happens next. It’s a story that delivers action, danger and even romance that keeps you interested all the way through. And it the characters are written in such a way that makes you feel so connected to them that you feel every emotion that their experiencing. Glass Sword really puts our heroine through the ringer and I had so much sympathy for her but at the same time, I’m one of her biggest fans rooting for her and hoping she pushes through. She isn’t perfect and she makes mistakes and that’s very clear throughout this chapter of her story. We have to remember she is only a seventeen-year-old girl who learns through her mistakes, and so she will continue to make them. This definitely makes her stronger though. 

It’s not just Mare who makes this series so good though, it’s also the secondary characters like Kilorn, Captain Farley and Cal. Cal is definitely a favourite of mine – there’s really no need for me to explain why is there? But I love his presence in the book! And the new addition of characters was an added bonus too! 

In all, if you haven’t read this series then I’d highly recommend you do. I for one cannot wait for the release of the third installment, Kings Cage!  

Thank you to Orion Publishing for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments: